Register for upcoming webinars to save the date and get helpful reminders beforehand to join webinars live. Join us for talks on diverse writing craft topics, from character arcs to dialogue, plot development, planning, finding your own writing voice, and more.

Upcoming dates

Wednesday 13 January 2021
10:00 EST / 15:00 GMT / 17:00 SAST

Getting started

It’s a fresh year and a fresh start. What do you need to do to get started with writing your new novel? This session will give an overview on how to set goals, how to make writing a priority, and will include fun exercises to get the creative juices flowing.

Wednesday 03 February 2021
10:00 EST / 15:00 GMT / 17:00 SAST

Research for Writers

No matter what genre you write, you’ll be creating a world for your characters, jobs, hobbies, skills… how do you ensure that your book is both authentic and still an engaging read? We’ll discuss tips and tricks for researching your novel.

Wednesday 24 February 2021
10:00 EST / 15:00 GMT / 17:00 SAST

Hooking the reader - crafting a page-turning opening chapter

The first chapter is your most important, your one shot at hooking the reader (or agent or editor). Learn how to craft an opening chapter that will make the reader want to keep turning the pages.

Wednesday 17 March 2021
11:00 EDT / 15:00 GMT / 17:00 SAST

Creating your author brand

Celebrate St Patrick’s Day with us as we talk about what writers need to know about establishing their author brand before becoming published authors.

Wednesday 07 April 2021
11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST / 17:00 SAST

Writing Series

Everything you need to know about maximizing the earning potential of your books by writing linked books. We’ll look at ideas on how to create a series, the difference between series and serials, and how to create character arcs that span series and keep readers coming back for more.

Wednesday 28 April 2021
11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST / 17:00 SAST

Saggy middles & how to fix them

No, this isn’t a fitness class. The Middle Act of a novel is the longest, and many writers struggle to maintain momentum both in their story and in their writing routine. This webinar will cover techniques to keep your reader hooked through the saggy middle of your story, and to keep motivated at that point in our books when we feel the urge to give up and start something new.

Wednesday 19 May 2021
11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST / 17:00 SAST

Crafting an Effective Query

You’ve completed your novel and you’re ready to submit it to editors and agents. This webinar will cover everything you need to know about the submission process, and how to write an effective query letter and synopsis.

Wednesday 09 June 2021
11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST / 17:00 SAST

Deepening your Point of View

Writing so deeply in your character’s POV that your reader forgets they’re reading a story and lives the story for themselves is a skill worth mastering. Take your writing to the next level in this interactive webinar with techniques and exercises.

About the speaker

Romy Somer - Now Novel Writing Coach and Editor
Romy Sommer
  • Author of five novels published by HarperCollins London, as well as 7 self-published titles
  • Founder and Chairperson of ROSA (Romance writers Organisation of South Africa)
  • First South African to be nominated for the prestigious RWA Rita® Award
  • Now Novel writing coach

Archived webinar series

Dialogue Writing (free preview)

Learn how to write good dialogue that is full of purpose and 4 key functions of dialogue.

Finding your voice

Learn about ‘voice’ in writing, why it matters, and how to develop your own writing voice.

Login to your paid Now Novel account to get access to the webinar.

Character Arcs

Learn about creating character arcs that make your readers invest in characters’ journeys.

Login to your paid Now Novel account to get access to the webinar.

Showing vs Telling

Learn about showing vs telling in writing. Get practical advice on how to make your stories a more immersive reader experience.

Login to your paid Now Novel account to get access to the webinar.

Internal Conflict vs External Conflict

Learn about internal conflict and external conflict and how to use them as engines that drive your story.

Login to your paid Now Novel account to get access to the webinar.

Self-Editing Techniques

Discover self-editing techniques that will help you to write cleaner, crisper prose and turn sloppy first drafts into polished writing.

Login to your paid Now Novel account to get access to the webinar.

How Publishing Works

Understand the publishing process and industry better. Learn about the process from final draft to holding your book in your hands.

Login to your paid Now Novel account to get access to the webinar.